Welcome to the Pupil and Student Welfare Support Page

At John Henry Newman we believe that your wellbeing comes first. It is important that you feel good about yourself to get the most out of your life and feel connected to other people.

‘Wellbeing’ means more than just feeling happy and confident; it means feeling able to cope when things get tough in our lives or when our physical health suffers.

In this wellbeing area you will find information pages on some of the main issues affecting teenagers and young adults in secondary school. You can access these within school or at home. If you have any questions about any of the information or would like to talk to a member of staff about a particularly worry please talk to Mrs Davies, Miss Cusack or your Learning Co-ordinator. If you would prefer to send an e-mail the contacts are below:

Director of Learning Support & Inclusions Mrs R Davies daviesr@jhn.herts.sch.uk
Deputy Headteacher Pastoral  Miss P Cusack cusackp@jhn.herts.sch.uk
Year 7 Mrs J Shephard shephardj@jhn.herts.sch.uk
Year 8 Mr N Barry barryn@jhn.herts.sch.uk
Year 9 Mrs J Broom broomj@jhn.herts.sch.uk
Year 10 Miss H Doran doranh@jhn.herts.sch.uk
Year 11 Mrs S Ince inces@jhn.herts.sch.uk
Sixth Form Mrs W Howard howardw@jhn.herts.sch.uk

Help with Exam pressure and stress

Prepare to perform parents - 10 tips to support your child through their exams


Below are links to organisations & charities offering support and guidance. Please see individual pages for information and help on Anger, Bereavement, Bullying, Depression, Eating Disorders, Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder, Self-Harm, Stress & Supporting friends and family members with metal illness.  

Charity Supporrting anyone affected by eating disorders
Help & Advice on Bullying
Internet safety website 
Change for Life
Healthy living activities & tips
Child Line
Private & Confidential service for children & young people up to the age of 19
Depression Alliance
Bringing people together to end the loneliness & isolation of depression
Epic Friends
Helping you to help friends who might be struggling to cope emotionally
Free confidential helpline for parents and teens who need advice on drugs and alcohol
Frank  T: 0300 123 6600 (24 hours)
Help for mental health problems
General Health Advice and Support
OCD Action
Support & Information for anyone affected by OCD
http://www.ocdaction.org.uk/ T: 116 123 (24 hours)
Suppport 24 hours a day 365 days a year

Working to improve the quality of life for anyone affected by mental illness

Young Minds
The voice for young people's mental health & wellbeing

The links above are to external sites which are intended to aid & support the user. It should be noted that the views and opinions given by these external sites do not necessarily reflect those of The John Henry Newman Catholic School.