In designing our curriculum, we aim to provide our pupils and students with an educational experience which is broad, balanced, relevant and challenging.  We operate within the framework of the national guidelines, while at the same time using the flexibility available to offer a programme that reflects our distinct mission and ethos.  We have a formal curriculum which consists of 50 one hour periods over two weeks.  Within this, there are three formal Key Stages:

Key Stage 3: Year 7 & Year 8
Key Stage 4: Year 9,Year 10 & Year 11 (GCSEs)
Key Stage 5: Year 12 & Year 13 (A/S and A Levels, BTEC)

Key Stage 3

On entering the school, pupils are placed in mixed ability tutor groups which will form the basis of much of the teaching that takes place in Year 7. Later in the year pupil groupings maybe rearranged in English, Maths and Languages so as to accelerate the learning of the most able pupils and support those who would benefit from some more consolidation work in the subject area.

A small number of pupils receive additional literacy and numeracy support from the Autumn term.  In this way, we are able to tailor lessons appropriately, supporting those who need more time to assimilate new knowledge and providing challenge and stretch to all.

The other subjects taught at Key Stage 3 are Art, Expressive Arts (Drama and Dance), Geography, History, Computer Science, Music, PE, Religious Education, Science, Technology and Citizenship.

A mixture of setting and mixed ability teaching continues throughout Key Stage 3.  Where subjects are taught in sets, the group are kept under review by the Subject Leader, and pupils may be moved periodically to ensure they are in a group which matches their ability and stretches them sufficiently.

At the end of Key Stage 3, pupils are teacher-assessed in all subject areas according to National Curriculum Levels of attainment.

View KS3 Assessment Information 

Key Stage 4

At Key Stage 4, there is a greater degree of flexibility in the programmes pupils may follow.  In addition to a compulsory core of English, Mathematics, Religious Education, Science and Games, there are three option blocks from which pupils can choose subjects which match their interests and ability.

The subjects available include Art, Business Studies, Child Development, Computing, Dance, Drama, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Food Technology, Geography, Graphics, History, Music, PE, Product Design and Textiles.  Vocational courses include BTEC Sport and National Certificate in IT.

Additional support for those pupils who are at risk of underperforming in English and/or Maths is encouraged for those identified at the start of Year 10, and enables the school to tailor individual curriculum choices to match pupil needs.

The content of the curriculum is subject to regular review and may be changed at the direction of the Governing Body.

Key Stage 5

For details of the curriculum and choice of BTECs, AS and A Level Subjects at Key Stage 5, please visit the Sixth Form section.