Menu

Year 11-12 Bridging Work

A welcome message from Mr Mathew

Thank you so much for getting ready to participate in the Pre-BTEC/ CTEC/ ‘A’ level programme.  It is a vital preparation step for you to help ensure you are ready for the challenges of advanced level study.

Each subject has put together a guided programme in order to give you a good sense of the depth and breadth of advanced level work in that subject.  They have been asked to provide a more staged and guided approach than ever before, so that as many of you as possible can get a clear idea of what studying that specification means.

Below, you will be able to see all the pre-12 programmes.  You should complete the bridging work for your three chosen subjects.

Be in no doubt – successful participation in these programmes will be one of the key factors in being accepted onto the subjects you opt for at the end of the summer.  Success does not mean getting all the answers right: it means demonstrating resilient engagement with the reading and activities, and completion of the tasks set in section 5: ‘Btec/ ‘A’ level ready in each booklet.

Please contact the relevant subject teacher if you have any questions about the bridging work. Please also remember to bring your completed bridging work to the first lessons in September.

So, once again, let me tell you how thrilled I am that you are committing to the academic process and are willing to take such an important step towards joining The Saint John Henry Newman School Sixth Form in September.  Choose wisely, and make the most of the opportunities that unfold…

God Bless

Mr Mathew  

Subject

Staff overseeing bridging work

Contact

Art

Miss Whiting

whitinga@jhn.herts.sch.uk 

Biology

Mr O’Connell

oconnellm@jhn.herts.sch.uk

Business

Mrs Taylor

taylors@jhn.herts.sch.uk 

Chemistry

Mrs Oligboh

oligbohn@jhn.herts.sch.uk

Computer Science

Mr Flain

flaink@jhn.herts.sch.uk

Economics

Mr Tucker

tuckerc@jhn.herts.sch.uk

English Literature

Miss Kitson

kitsona@jhn.herts.sch.uk

English Literature/Language

Mrs Finch

finche@jhn.herts.sch.uk

Further Maths

Mr Barry

barryn@jhn.herts.sch.uk

Geography

Miss Routledge

routledgea@jhn.herts.sch.uk

History

Mrs Naylor

naylorl@jhn.herts.sch.uk

Maths

Mr Barry

barryn@jhn.herts.sch.uk

Music

Miss Hewitson

hewitsonc@jhn.herts.sch.uk

Physical Education

Mrs Tembey

tembeyj@jhn.herts.sch.uk

Physics

Mr Sansom

sansomd@jhn.herts.sch.uk

Politics

Mrs Naylor

naylorl@jhn.herts.sch.uk

Psychology

Miss Hunter

hunterl@jhn.herts.sch.uk

Sociology

Mrs Younger

youngerj@jhn.herts.sch.uk

Religion, Philosophy and Ethics

Mrs Ronayne

ronaynec@jhn.herts.sch.uk

Theatre Studies

Mr Wyman

wymanm@jhn.herts.sch.uk

BTEC Art

Mrs Whiting

whitinga@jhn.herts.sch.uk

BTEC Music Performance

Miss Hewitson

hewitsonc@jhn.herts.sch.uk

BTEC Music Technology

Mr Fisher

fisherd@jhn.herts.sch.uk

BTEC Production Arts

Mrs Greenwood

greenwoodr@jhn.herts.sch.uk

BTEC Science

Mr Losty

lostyg@jhn.herts.sch.uk

BTEC Sport

Miss Drackford

drackforde@jhn.herts.sch.uk

CTEC Health and Social

Mrs Taylor

taylora@jhn.herts.sch.uk

 

Art & Design

Biology

Business

Chemistry

Computer Science

Economics

English Literature

English Language and Literature

French

Geography

History

Maths & Further Maths

Music

Physics

Physical Education

Politics

Psychology

Religion, Philosophy & Ethics

Sociology

Spanish

Theatre Studies

BTEC Music Performance

BTEC Production Arts

BTEC Applied Science

CTEC Health & Social Care

BTEC Sport

BTEC Music Technology