Governing Body

Governors poster 2023

The Saint John Henry Newman Catholic School is a member of the Diocese of Westminster Academy Trust and converted to Academy status in March 2012.   Please see the information links below

Information about DoWAT

Scheme of Delegation 

The Trust Board receives regular reports as to the school’s progress in key areas, including pupil performance, risk assessments, financial audits and staff development.

The Make Up Of The Saint John Henry Newman Governing Body

The functions of the Governing Body are determined by Instrument of Government, a legal document which determines the ‘modus operandi’ of our Governing Body.

  • There are 6 Foundation Governors (vacancy for 1 Foundation Governor) and 1 Community Officer appointed by the Diocese of Westminster Academy Trust.  As a Catholic School, these comprise the majority of the Governing Body.  The elected Chair of the Governing Body must always, under the Articles of Instruments of Government, be a Foundation Governor.
  • There are currently 2 Parent Governors.  These Governors must have a child in the School at the time they are openly elected by parents.  Governors have a Returning Officer who conducts the election, either at a time of Reconstitution or after a Parent Governor steps down.
  • There are 2 Staff Governors, one Teacher Governor one Non Teacher Governor.
  • The Headteacher is also a Governor.

Once in post, each Governor is required to function fully as a member of the Governing Body in its role and function.  No Governor is there to represent a special group e.g. a Parent Governor is not appointed to become ‘the voice’ or the ‘ears’ of groups of parents.

Governors are normally elected or appointed to serve a term of 3 or 4 years, and can remain on the Governing Body for three terms of office (a maximum of 12 years). It would be impractical for all Governors to be appointed/elected so that their terms of office all come to an end at the same time for obvious reasons.  Under the most recent reconstitution Governors were appointed to serve varying years of service.

At The Saint John Henry Newman Catholic School, the Deputy Headteacher(s) and Extended Leadership Team are invited to all Governing Body Meetings.  This enables Governors to have full access to the Extended Leadership Team and allows leaders to present their areas of accountability directly to Governors.  The Deputy Headteachers are co-opted, which enables them to take part in discussions but not to vote other than in the various committees established by the Governing Body.

Name Term of Office Type of Governor Committee Membership Roles & Responsibilities Governors/Trustee at other Institutes of Education Declaration of pecuniary interest
Kieran Halpenny From 01/09/2021 to 31/08/2025 Chair Curriculum/T&L


Chair of Governors

n/a none
David Carrasco From 01/09/2023  Staff Headteacher Risk Management & Personnel
Finance & General Purposes
  n/a none
Philip Farr From 01/09/2021 to 31/08/2025 Vice Chair

Risk Management & Personnel

Vice Chair n/a none
Mary Price From 
1/11/2020 to 31/08/2024  
Foundation Curriculum/T&L


n/a none
Sharon Harte-Andrews From 01/09/2022 to 31/08/2026 Foundation Risk Management & Personnel   n/a none
TBC From  Community Risk Management & Personnel
Curriculum/T&L Finance & General Purposes
Chair of Curriculum T&L
n/a none

From 01/09/2019 to

Foundation Risk
Management & Personnel Admissions
  n/a none
Claire Angus  from 01/09/2022 to 31/08/2026 Foundation Risk Management & Personnel   n/a none
Mike Treffry  from 01/09/2022 to 31/08/2026 Parent Finance & General Purpose   n/a none
Kate Corney    from 01/09/2022 to 31/08/2026 Parent Curriculum, Teaching & Learning   n/a none
Dawn Moran 

05/10/2020 to

Non-Teaching Staff Governor     n/a none
Charlie Belt From  01/09/23 to 31/08/27 Teaching Staff Governor Curriculum/T&L
  n/a none




Contacting the Governors:

Queries about the management of The Saint John Henry Newman School and the progress of any individual child should be directed in the first instance to the school via the usual channels.  However if you have any queries for the governors, please email:

Mrs Radcliffe, as Clerk to the Governors will pass on your query.